The Official Portal of the Sarawak Government

Premier of Sarawak

In 1963, the Chief Minister of Sarawak is the head of the executive branch of the State Government in Sarawak. The Chief Minister is appointed by the Yang di-Pertua Negeri, Governor of Sarawak, from the state’s Legislative Council. 

The Dewan Undangan Negeri of Sarawak on 15th February 2022 passed several amendment to the constitution of the State of Sarawak. Amongst those amendment is that the term "Chief Minister" is to be restyled to "Premier".

Effective on 1st March of 2022. The Chief Minister of Sarawak addressed as the "Premier of Sarawak"  and the Office of Chief Minister referred to "Office of the Premier of Sarawak".


» Visit Official website Office of the Premier of Sarawak


There have been six Premier of Sarawak since the office was created in 1963:

1. Datuk Stephen Kalong Ningkan (1963-1966)

2. Datuk Penghulu Tawi Sli (1966-1970)

3. Tun Datuk Patinggi Abdul Rahman Ya'kub (1970-1981)

4. Pehin Sri Haji Abdul Taib Mahmud (1981-2014)

5. YAB Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri (Dr) Haji Adenan Bin Haji Satem (2014-2017)

6. YAB Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri (Dr) Abang Haji Abdul Rahman Zohari Bin Tun Datuk Abang Haji Openg (2017 - present)